Japan Studies Collection: Dictionaries

Printed Dictionaries

• Dai Kan-Wa Jiten / 大漢和辞典 1955 version and 1989 version
  Good for looking up unusual, esoteric, & rare Kanji and Kanji phrases. Many phrases are from Chinese classics and poems. The new version was written in modern Japanese.

• Daikangorin / 大漢語林
  21,000 main entries including many variations and Kanji originated in Japan. Many phrases are from Chinese classics and the Buddhist scriptures.

• Gakken Kan-Wa Daijiten / 学研漢和大辞典
  11,000 main entries. Many (about 70,000) phrases are Chinese classics and the Buddhist scriptures.

• Jikun / 字訓
  Describes history and processes how Chinese characters were adopted in Japan. Contains 2,200 Kanji from Kojiki 古事記, Nihon Shoki 日本書紀, Man'yoshu 万葉集, etc.

• Jito / 字統
  Describes an original form and structure of a Kanji (Etymology). Contains 6,800 from Kanji originated in Japan.

• Kanji dictionary in English

• Kodansha Shin-Daijiten / 講談社新大字典
  Contains 21,000 main entries. Many characters originated in Japan.

• The modern reader's Japanese-English character dictionary

• The new Nelson Japanese-English character dictionary : based on the classic edition by Andrew N. Nelson

Online Dictionaries

• Kanji Net / 漢字辞典ネット
• Jitsu / 字通 (UHM Only) access through JapanKnowlegde database Systematic treatment of the development, meanings, and compounding of Chinese characters. Contains 9,500 main entries.

• Mojinavi モジナビ Online Kanji dictionary including handwritten characters

Printed Japanese Dictionaries

• Daijirin / 大辞林 
• ​Daijisen / 大辞泉 Available online version through JapanKnowledge (UHM Only)
• Kojien / 広辞苑
  Includes more than 230,000 words. Biographies include the deceased
• Nihon Kokugo Daijiten / 日本国語大辞典 
  Available online version through JapanKnowledge (UHM Only).  Largest Japanese language dictionary from classical Japanese to mordern.

Printed/Online Japanese Etymology Dictionaries

• Gogen Yurai Jiten / 語源由来辞典
• Kokugo Gogen Jiten / 国語語源辞典
• Manga Naruhodo Gogen Monogatari / まんがなるほど語源物語 
• Nihongo Gogen Daiiten / 日本語源大辞典 A spin off of the Nihon Kokugo Daijiten
• Yamato Kotoba Gogen Jiten / ヤマト言葉大辞典 Korean and Japanese etymology

•  Maruzen eBooks (UHM Only) Over 78 books categorized by learning levels for Japanese language extensive readings. Most of the e-book readers are searchable and downloadable. 
• Extensive readings 多読 from NHK site.

• Japanese in Anime-Manga　アニメ･マンガの日本語 (Adobe Flash Player) Leaning the Japanese via anime & manga 
• Web nihongo / Web日本語
  7 sites of fun learning of the Japanese language by Shogakukan

• Nihon Kokugo Dai Jiten / 日本国語大辞典

• Dekanji service/app でかんじ Enables to enlarge kanji character that you want to see.
  
  
• Kuzushiji o manabu くずし字を学ぶ iTune Course in Japanese offered by Waseda University. 
• Kuzushiji Kaidoku Koza Tekisuto Kuzushiji textbooks by Shizuoka Prefectural Central Library 静岡県立中央図書館くずし字解読講座テキスト

Printed Dictionaries

• Kazoekata no Jiten / 数え方の辞典
  Online version available through JapanKnowledge (UHM only)
  Contains words used to count things. Japanese has an incredible variety of words used to count objects. For example, the word sao is used to count chest-of-drawers （箪笥）, the word hara is used to count cod roe （鱈子）, the word hari is used to count mosquito nets （蚊帳）, and the term tomae is used to count storehouses （蔵）. This dictionary shows what counting words can be used for approximately 4,600 word
• Kanji Kuzushiji Jiten / 漢字くずし字字典
• Nihongo Dai Shisorasu / 日本語大シソ－ラス : 類語検索大辞典
• Ateji Gairaigo Jiten / 宛字外来語辞典
• Ateji no Jiten / 当て字の辞典 : 日常漢字の訓よみ辞典 :あてじ・当字・宛字
• Ingo Daijiten / 隠語大辞典

Online Dictionary

• Kuzushiji Jiten,Mokkan Jiten / くずし字字典・木簡字典