Japan Studies Collection: Library Catalogs for Finding Printed Books

Cannot find books that you are looking for in UHM Library?

• ILL Request Form 
  • for items not at UH
• ILL FAQs
• Tips for ILL services with Japan

As of Nov. 23, 2011, UHM Library and the University of the Ryukyus Library entered a special agreement to free receprocated ILL/DD transactions for items only available from each library holdings (borrowable materials only). This pilot project will end and be reviewed after five years.

An online list of itemized records held by a particular library is called OPAC (Online Public Access Catalog).

UHM Library's OPACs​

• 
   
  It includes the UH Voyager Catalog plus a huge index of academic journals on most topics. Also includes conference papers, maps, government documents, music scores, DVDs, archives & manuscripts, and more.

OneSearch Overview (video)
OneSaerch Advanced Searching (video)
OneSearch Advanced Searching using Scopes (video)
 

Other Libraries' OPACs 

• Library of Congress/米国議会図書館 
• National Diet Library/国立国会図書館 Allows multiple database searches. See the available database list.
• National Institute of Japanese Literature (NIJL)/国文学研究資料館 マイクロフィルム、和古書、デジタル資料目録
  National Institute of Japanese Literature (NIJL) 国書データベース
• Showakan OPAC 昭和館検索 holds many pre-WWII magazines
• Waseda University Library/早稲田大学中央図書館
• Waseda University Rare & Early Prints Catalog/早稲田大学古典籍総合データベース Including Tale of Genji, Modern Literature, Edo Literature, historical images, and more.
• Keio University Library/慶應義塾図書館
• Toyo Bunko 東洋文庫
• University of the Ryukyus Library/琉球大学附属図書館

Federated Search Engines (Search multiple OPACs in Japan)

• 想 IMAGINE Book Search
  It searches multiple OPAC, publisher databases, full-text databases, and more.
• Calil Local /カーリルローカル
  You can select libraries in each prefecture

Union catalogs
Provide itemized records held by many libraries. They often include publishers' catalogs.

• OCLC Worldcat (UHM Only) 
  Largest union catalog in the world
• CiNii Books (Japanese version / English version) 
  Japanese & some European university Libraries union catalog
• CiNii Research (Japanese version / English version)  List of the databases included.
• National Diet Library 国会図書館検索データベース
  NDL-Bib 
  NDL Online 
  NDL Search 
• Webcat Plus 
  Catalogs of Japanese university libraries
• European Japanese Union Catalog
• Google Books Japan 
  Includes many full text books

Directory

• Directory of North American Collections of Japanese Old & Rare Materials
  Overview, contact information of the participating North American institutions, which hold old and rare materials. Manged by the National Institute of Japanese Literature.

Bibliographic Database

• Okinawa Historical Resources Database/沖縄歴史文献データベース
  Searchable materials on Okinawa held by various institutions including the UHM Library's Sakamaki/Hawley Collection

Specialized in early (classical) Japanese books

• 日本古典籍総合目録 (国書書総目録+古典籍総合目録+国文研マイクロフィルムカタログ)
  See more about this database "Getting the Most of Union Catalog of Japanese Early Books"

Art Libraries Catalogs

• Art Libraries' Consortium

Translated works from Japanese to other languages in literature

• Japanese Literature in Translation Database complied by the Japan Pen Club and managed by the Japan Foundation
• The Index Translationum: Bibliographic Search (UNESCO)
  Contains cumulative bibliographical information on books translated and published in about one hundred of the UNESCO Member States since 1979.