click the green box
The Library is here to help!
The Library building is fully open. Current UH IDs or EWC IDS will be required to enter the Library. Study spaces and the computer lab are available. Cleanliness and safety practices are in place. Masks must be worn at all times.
Our Remote Resources are available 24/7. Contact Reference Librarians via LibChat and email or during in person hours. Learning and Research Skills videos offer tips in using OneSearch to find materials. Visit our FAQ.
Visitors with an identified research need may request a research appointment. If granted, proof of vaccination and government issued ID will be required.
The Philippine Collection at the University of Hawai'i has research and rare materials in various formats that support the programs of the Center for Philippine Studies.
Materials collected focus on the Philippines and Filipinos in the social sciences and humanities, primarily in English (the dominant language of printed mass media, academia and government), Filipino (Tagalog), Ilokano, Spanish, and various other Filipino language materials are acquired selectively.
Where is the Philippine Collection at UHM?
The general materials are integrated into the Asia (English & other western languages) Collections of Hamilton Library on the 3rd and 4th floors. Please refer to the "frequently asked questions tab" above for bibliographies and locations of popular topics.
Primary resources contain first-hand information, meaning that you are reading the author’s own account on a specific topic or event that s/he participated in. Examples of primary resources include scholarly research articles, books, and diaries. Primary sources such as research articles often do not explain terminology and theoretical principles in detail. Thus, readers of primary scholarly research should have the foundational knowledge of the subject area. Use primary resources to obtain a first-hand account of an actual event and identify original research done in a field. For many of your papers, the use of primary resources will be a requirement.
Examples of a primary source are:
How to locate primary research in Hamilton Library:
Examples of primary resources at UH
Includes letters, military orders, and official government programs and invitations during the Philippine Revolution (1896-1898) and the
Philippine American War (1899-1902).
Proquest digital dissertation database. Includes bibliographic citations for the doctoral and masters work of authors from 1,000 graduate schools and universities dating back to 1861. Citations for dissertations from 1980 forward include abstracts, and from 1997 on full-text is available for over 100,000 titles deposited with UMI.
Dissertations and Theses at University of Hawaii provides access to complete full text of University of Hawaii theses and dissertations from 1996 to present. Use Dissertations & Theses for citations, abstracts, and full text of work from other institutions.
NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.
Access to thousands of images from around the world.
Secondary sources describe, summarize, or discuss information or details originally presented in another source; meaning the author, in most cases, did not participate in the event. This type of source is written for a broad audience and will include definitions of discipline-specific terms, history relating to the topic, significant theories and principles, and summaries of major studies/events as related to the topic.
Secondary sources were created by someone who did not experience first-hand or participate in the events or conditions you’re researching. For a historical research project, secondary sources are generally scholarly books and articles.
A secondary source interprets and analyzes primary sources. These sources are one or more steps removed from the event. Secondary sources may contain pictures, quotes or graphics of primary sources.
Use secondary sources to obtain an overview of a topic and/or identify primary resources. Refrain from including such resources in an annotated bibliography for doctoral-level work unless there is a good reason.
Examples of a secondary source are:
Locate secondary resources in Hamilton Library within One Search and the databases outlined below.
Searching for Articles in Scholarly Journals at the UHM Library
Use the Online Databases through the UHM Library
(Valid UHM username and password are required)
Step 1: Go to http://library.manoa.hawaii.edu/
Step 2: Click Databases.
Step 3: Here are some databases that you can use for your research.
The premier business and management database providing extensive coverage of North America and the world.
The CIPPA database provides a selective indexing of articles found in over one hundred popular magazines, journals and leading newspapers published from 1988 to the present.
Search over 10,000 full text journals in more than 50 EBSCOhost databases covering all subjects.
Other Helpful Online Search Tools
STATISTICS on the Philippines
Philippine Studies Librarian