University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Philippines: Journals

Database (Valid UHM ID required)

The CIPPA database provides a selective indexing of articles found in over one hundred popular magazines, journals and leading newspapers published from 1988 to the present.

Welcome to the Journals Page

Below are links to the records of Philippine-related periodicals held at the UH-Manoa Hamilton Library.  Most of the periodicals listed are found on the 4th Floor in the Asia Collection.  Additional information, such as links to open access journals are also included.  For additional information, please refer to the homepage or contact the Philippine specialist librarian, Elena Clariza.

The Periodicals

A

 

ADB Business Opportunities

Asia Development Bank (ADB); Manila

This is a monthly periodical produced by ADB.  More information on the organization can be found here.

 

Am Cham Business Journal

American Chamber of Commerce of the Philippines; Manila

This is a monthly journal by the American Chamber of Commerce of the Philippines.  More information on the chamber can be found on its website.

Asia Economic Monitor

Asia Development Bank (ADB); Manila

Published by the Asia Development Bank (ADB), this is a semiannual periodical on the economic growth and policy issues in Asia.  Past issues can be access in whole or partial on ADB's website.

Asian Development Outlook

Asia Development Bank (ADB); Manila

Published by the Asian Development Bank (ADB), this periodical provides comprehensive analyses on the economic and development issues in the Philippines.  More information on ADB can be found on its website.

 

Asian Development Review

Asia Development Bank (ADB); Manila

This is another semiannual periodical published by the Asia Development Bank (ADB) which covers Asian and Pacific economic issues.  More information on the subject can be found on ADB's website.

 

 

B

Bannawag

Bannawag is an Ilocano weekly magazine printed in the Philippines by Liwayway Publications since 1934.  It contains news articles, novels, short stories, comics and poetry.  The magazine is acknowledged for laying the foundation of contemporary Iluko literature and is used as an educational resource in Ilocano-speaking areas in the Philippines.

Boletin Eclesiastico de Filipinas

University of Santo Tomas; Manila
Established in 1923, the Boletin is the official interdiocesan of the Philippines.  Information on the periodical's history can be found here.
Ateneo de Manila University; Manila
This refereed journal offers theoretical articles on disciplines such as philosophy, theology, literature, culture, the social sciences, and the arts.  Back issues of Budhi are available through the open journal systems of Philippine Journals Online.  Click here for the journal's webpage
American Association of the Philippines, Manila
The Bulletin contains articles about the Philippine-American period as well as on Philippine-U.S. relations.  The Publisher of the periodical, the American Association of the Philippines, is also the guardian of the American Historical Collection
C

CBCP Monitor

This is the publication for the Catholic Church Bishops' Conference of the Philippines.  Current issues are available online for free.

 

D

Diliman Review

University of the Philippines-Diliman; Manila

"Diliman Review is one of the refereed journals of the College of Arts and Letters, the College of Social Sciences and Philosophy and the College of Science, University of the Philippines, Diliman.Diliman Review draws its contributors mainly from its own pool of UP scholars, creative writers and artists but also welcomes essays, creative works, reviews, forum/symposium papers from other scholars and artists." -U.P. Diliman Online Journals page

  • Access other journals published by the University of the Philippines-Diliman through its The U.P. Diliman Online Journals page.  Depending on the journal, excerpts of full-text articles or abstracts are available as open access.

 

E

ERD Working Paper Series

Asia Development Bank (ADB); Manila

Published by the Asia Development Bank (ADB), this series focuses on socio-econmic research and policy making.  More information on ADB can be found here.

 

F

Factbook, Philippine Financial System

Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP); Manila

BSP or the Central Bank of the Philippines publishes this annual.  More information about the bank can be found on its website.

 

Farm News & Views

Philippine Peasant Institute, Quezon City

This is the bimonthly periodical of the Philippine Peasant Institute.

 

Filipinas

San Francisco, California

A Filipino American monthly magazine that is nationally circulated.  Beginning in 1992, this community journalism magazine ceased its printed copies in 2010.  The online version is available.

 
 
 
Published by the Philippine Studies Committee.
 
 
 
G
 
 
H
 
 
I
 
This is the magazine of the Philippine Center for Investigative Journalism.  More information on the PCIJ can be found here.
A socio-economic periodical published by the Ibon Foundation.

Info on Human Development

This is the periodical published by the Office for Human Development of the Federation of Asian Bishops' Conferences (FABC).  Click on this website for more information on the FABC.

 

Intersect.

John J. Carroll Institute on Church and Social Issues; Quezon City.

Intersect is a quarterly publication focusing on socio-economic conditions in the Philippines.  More recent articles are available on the institute's website.  Find the section "National Situationers" on the publications webpage to download the articles for free.

 

 

J

 

 
Manila
 
A quarterly journal published by the National Statistics Office of the Philippines.  More informantion on the government agency can be found here.

 

 

K

Kasarinlan: Philippine Journal of Third World Studies

University of the Philippines-Diliman; Manila

This is an international refereed journal published biannually by The Third World Studies Center, University of the Philippines.  More information on the periodical can be found here.  Information on the Thirld World Studies Center is also available online.

 

Kilusang Mayo Uno Periodicals

[Manila]

Hamilton Library houses several periodicals by the labor union, Kilusang Mayo Uno (KMU).  Current information, in English and Tagalog, can be found the union's website.

 

Kinaadman (Wisdom)

Xavier University-Ateneo de Cagayan; Cagayan de Oro City

Published by the Kinaadman Research Center, this is an annual journal on the social sciences and humanities, with a focus on Mindanao.  More information on the journal can be found here.

 

L

Liwayway

Manila

Meaning "Dawn," this Tagalog weekly magazine started in 1922, and is the oldest Tagalog weekly.  The periodical contains serialized novels, short stories, poetry, serialized comics, essays, news features, entertainment news and articles, and many others.  History on the magazine can be found on the PilipinoKomiks blog.

 

M

Monitor

Los Banos

This is an agricultural journal published by the Philippine Council for Agriculture and Resources Research, which is no longer circulating.

 

 

N

NSO Monthly Bulletin of Statistics

Manila

This bulletin is generated by  the Philippine government's National Statistics Office (NSO).  NSO's website is featured here.

 

National Accounts of the Philippines

Philipppine National Statistical Coordination Board, Economic Social Statistics Office; Manila

These are statistical quarterly reports on the Philippines.  The most current reports are provided on the Philippine National Statistical Coordination Board's website.

 

Newsbreak

Quezon City

Newsbreak is an investigative news magazine now under the Philippine social news network Rappler.  More information on the periodical, Rappler and up-to-date current events can be found on its website.

NSO Monthly Bulletin of Statistics

National Census and Statistics Office; Manila

As its title suggests, this is a bulletin generated by the Philippine government.  More information on the National Census and Statistics Office can be found on its official website under its current name: Philippine National Statistical Coordination Board. 

 

 

O

Official Gazette, Philippines

Republic of the Philippines

This is an official government weekly periodical covering politics and the State.  Current information can be found on its website  which covers all three branches of government.

 

 

P

PSSC Social Science Information

Quezon City

The PSSC Social Science Information is a semi-annual publication of the non-profit organization Philippine Social Science Council (PSSC).  More about the organization can be found here.

 

Philippine Free Press

A weekly newsmagazine that began in 1908 during American occupation, this publication is the oldest weekly news weekly in the Philippines.  The online version of the publication is available at this site.  More information about the publication as well as the archives can be found on this Word Press blog.

 

Philippine Journal of Education

University of the Philippines-Diliman; Manila

This is a monthly journal on contemporary and emerging issues in education.

 

Philippine Journal of Labor and Industrial Relations

University of the Philippines-Diliman; Quezon City

Published annually, this periodical contains articles on Philippine labor and industrial relations as well as human resource development.  Access to abstracts online can be found on the U.P Diliman Journals Online webpage.

Philippine Journal of Linguistics

This journal is published by the Linguistic Society of the Philippines and contains academic articles on linguistics from a Philippine context.

 

Philippine Journal of Psychology

This is the official journal of the Psychological Association of the Philippines.

 

Philippine Journal of Public Administration

University of the Philippines-Diliman; Manila

This journal contains articles on public administration and governance.  Past issues can be viewed online through U.P. Diliman Journals Online.  Registration is required.

 

Philippine Labor Review

Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE); Republic of the Philippines; Manila

More information on DOLE can be found on its website.

 

Philippine Political Science Journal

This periodical is an international peer reviewed journal published by the Philippine Political Science Association (PPSA).  Abstracts of past issues can be found on the journal's webpage.  More information on PPSA can be found on its website.

 

Philippine Quarterly of Culture and Society

University of San Carlos; Cebu

Although the journal covers a broad spectrum of different disciplines, it is popular within anthropology and archeaology.  Browse through the different issues' table of contents online.

 

Philippine Review of Economics & Business

University of the Philippines-Diliman; Quezon City

Published by UP's School of Economics, this journal focuses on economic conditions in the Philippines.  UH has cancelled its subcription to this periodical.  Now called Philippine Review of Economics, abstracts of this journal's recent issues can be found on this University of the Philippines webpage.

 

University of Santo Tomas; Manila
The Philippiniana Sacra is the official publication of Ecclesiastical Faculties of the University of Santo Tomas. Click here to learn more about the journal.

 

Philippine Sociological Review

This is the annual publication of the non-profit organization of the Philippine Sociological Society.  Recent issues of the journal can be found on JSTOR and online  for free for issues up to 2006.

 

Philippine Statistician

Manila

This is the official scientific journal of the Philippine Statistical Association, Inc.  Information on the PSA can be found on its website.  The website also contains the most current issues of the Philippine Statistician, which are downloadable.

 

Philippine Studies

Ateneo de Manila University; Manila

This is a referreed journal providing historical and ethnographical perspectives on the Philippines and its people.  Issues from 2011 to current can be found in the electronic database Project MUSE. Information on the journal can be found on its website.

 

Public Policy (Philippines)

University of the Philippines-Diliman; Manila

This is a semi-annual periodical containing articles that deal with contemporary and emerging policy issues in the Philippines and Asia-Pacific regions. 

 

Q

Quarterly Procurement Statistics

Asia Development Bank (ADB); Manila

These are statistics periodicals on economic development projects.  More information on ADB can be found on its website.

 

R

S

SRC Research Update

University of Santo Tomas; Manila

This periodical is published by the University of Santo Tomas' Social Research Center.  It covers theology, the Church and social issues.

 

Saint Louis University Research Journal

Saint Louis University; Baguio City

"The interdisciplinary journal featuring original and worthwhile research works of the faculty, personnel, and graduate school students of the University. It is published bi-annually." -Saint Louis University Research Journal page

 

Silliman Journal

Silliman University; Dumaguete City

This is an biannual peer-reviewed multidisciplinary academic journal published by Silliman University.

 

Silsilah

This is the bulletin of the Islam-Christian Silsilah Diaglogue Movement.  Click on the official website to learn more about this movement.

 

Studies in Philippine Language and Culture

This is another periodical published by the Linguistic Society of the Philippines.

 

T

Tambara

Ateneo de Davao University; Davao City

This peer-reviewed journal has a strong focus on Mindanao and the social sciences.  A website on the journal is available with a bibliography of the articles published in the journal. 

 

U

V

W

X

Y

Z