Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books on Japan
Bibliographic information of books on Japan in Western languages processed by the National Diet Library
Japanese Literature in Translation
Japanese literary works translated into other languages,
mostly after World War II. Searches can be made either in Japanese character or Roman letters.
Nihon Bungaku Internet Guide 日本文学インターネットガイド
Resource links relevant to Japanese literature
UHM Bibliography Series
Japanese economic and technological developments : an annotated bibliography
Japanese performing arts : an annotated bibliography
Japanese sources on Korea in Hawaii
Nanʼyo (South Seas) : an annotated bibliography
Russo-Japanese frontier region : Japanese source materials
Ryukyu : an annotated bibliography
Satsuma domain : Japanese research resources
Cannot find books that you are looking for in UHM Library?
As of Nov. 23, 2011, UHM Library and the University of the Ryukyus Library entered a special agreement to free receprocated ILL/DD transactions for items only available from each library holdings (borrowable materials only). This pilot project will end and be reviewed after five years.
Library Online Catalog
An online list of itemized records held by a particular library is called OPAC (Online Public Access Catalog).
UHM Library's OPACs
It includes the UH Voyager Catalog plus a huge index of academic journals on most topics. Also includes conference papers, maps, government documents, music scores, DVDs, archives & manuscripts, and more.
OneSearch Overview (video)
OneSaerch Advanced Searching (video)
OneSearch Advanced Searching using Scopes (video)
Other Libraries' OPACs
Federated Search Engines (Search multiple OPACs in Japan)
- 想 IMAGINE Book Search
It searches multiple OPAC, Publishers databases, full text databases, and more.
- Calil Local /カーリルローカル
You can select libraries in each prefecture
Provide itemized records held by many libraries. They often include publishers' catalogs.
Specialized in early (classical) Japanese books
Art Libraries Catalogs
Translated works from Japanese to other languages in literature