Skip to main content

Okinawan Studies: BLOG / News

This guide to introduce you to resources on Okinawa and Ryukyu.

Jitsugyō no Hawai held at the Hawaiian Collection was digitized and added to Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection at Hoover Institution Library and Archives

by Sachiko Iwabuchi 岩渕祥子 on 2019-11-27T10:00:00-10:00 | Comments

The Hoji Shinbun DIgital Collection at the Hoover Institution has added the issues of The Jitsugyō no Hawai / 『實業之布哇』that the UH Mānoa Library's Hawaiian Collection owns to their holding issues. 

Jitsugyo no Hawai at Hoji Shinbun Collection at the Hoover Institution Library and Archives

Jitsugyō no Hawai / 『實業之布哇』is a monthly magazine, published by Tōyama Sadako and editited by Tōyama Tetsuo in Honolulu, HI. 

The Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection's Jitsugyō no Hawai  pages writes,

"The Jitsugyō no Hawai, a monthly industrial magazine, was first published by Tōyama Sadako and edited by her husband Tetsuo Tōyama in 1911. The quality was respected and the magazine was popular, receiving articles contributed by many prominent Japanese leaders in Hawaii. The magazine featured specific practical articles related to farming and conducting business in Hawaii and its industrial conditions. The Jitsugyō no Hawai also featured articles on political, economic, and social issues at that time and published a special issue welcoming the Japanese navy to Hawaii in 1929. Tetsuo Tōyama was interned during World War II."

Sourcce: https://hojishinbun.hoover.org/?a=cl&cl=CL1&sp=jnh&e=-------en-10--1--img---------

The other issues that neither the Hoover Institution Library and Archives nor the Hawaiian Collection owns are held at Meiō University Library (名桜大学附属図書館) in Okinawa.  

The list of whichi institution owns which issue is availalbe in a box titled Newspapers and Journals published in Hawai'i at https://guides.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/okinawa/OkinawanDiaspora

Direct link to the PDF listhttps://guides.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/ld.php?content_id=42567315

The Hoji Shinbun Collection allows the users to search both in Japanese and English (if the newspapers were writen in English), even the words vertically written (縦書き). 

Bwlow is a sample queary and search result with a word "Nu'uanu" (place name) in katakana.

Search result of Nuuanu at Hoji Shinbun Collection

Please read the Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection's Conditions to Use their Materials and Copyright at its Citation and Copyright Page

Use of the Materials and Copyright

Access to the Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection is provided to users free of charge and granted solely for academic and research purposes (including studies of family genealogy and community history). For any proposed visual reproduction of the content or use of the material in publications, please contact the Hoover Institution Library & Archives for further instructions.

Source: https://hojishinbun.hoover.org/?a=p&p=citationandcopyright&e=-------en-10--1--img---------


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Subjects



Okinawa
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.