Okinawan Studies: BLOG / News

10 March 2021 NINJAL Online Lecture: Nisei Soldiers from Hawai'i

The National Institute for Japanese Language and Linguistics (NINJAL) will host an online even with MATSUDAIRA Keaki (松平けあき) on Nisei soldiers from Hawai'i. 

• Title:「北米における日本関連在外資料調査研究・活用 ―言語生活史研究に基づいた近現代の在外資料論の構築―」研究発表会
• Date: March 10, 2021 JST
• Time: 2 PM - 3 PM, JST (March 9, 2021, 7 PM - 8 PM, HST)
• Language: Japanese
• Announcement Page: https://www.ninjal.ac.jp/event/specialists/project-meeting/m-2020/20210310/

Image source: https://www.ninjal.ac.jp/event/specialists/project-meeting/m-2020/20210310/

Registration is required. 

Program

「二世兵士と沖縄をめぐる記憶の再考」
松平 けあき (国立国語研究所 / 上智大学)

沖縄系や日系二世は，沖縄戦において民間人に対する投降呼びかけで多くの命を救ったことや，戦後沖縄復興のため救済運動に尽力したことで知られ，これらの物語は沖縄やハワイで大切にされてきた。一方，沖縄戦で民間人を「助けられなかった」語りや占領期の沖縄で反米思想を調査した二世の語りは，栄光の物語の影に隠れているように思われる。本報告では，多様な二世の経験をいかに解釈することができるかについて考える。

Source: https://www.ninjal.ac.jp/event/specialists/project-meeting/m-2020/20210310/

Questions about this event should be sent to zaigai.hokubei[at]gmail.com (replace [at] with @]

Related Resources

• https://blog.hawaii.edu/okinawacollection/2017/10/09/takejiro-higa-nisei-soldier-from-oahu-passes-away/
• https://manoa.hawaii.edu/library/research/collections/archives/manuscript-collections/japanese-american-veterans-collection/
• http://nisei.hawaii.edu/object/io_1149316185200.html
• https://manoa.hawaii.edu/library/research/collections/archives/manuscript-collections/japanese-american-veterans-collection/japanese-american-veterans-clubs-and-related-organizations/
• https://manoa.hawaii.edu/library/research/collections/archives/manuscript-collections/hawaii-war-records-depository/japanese-american-veterans-timeline/

Correction: When this post was initially published, the presenter's name was misspelled. As of Feb 19, 2021, the errors were corrected with sincere apologies. [Last update: Feb 19, 2021]