Skip to main content

Okinawan Studies: BLOG / News

This guide to introduce you to resources on Okinawa and Ryukyu.

The Nippu Jiji Photo Archives Now Available on the Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection

by Sachiko Iwabuchi 岩渕祥子 on 2019-11-20T09:00:00-10:00 in Okinawa | Comments

The Hoover Institution Library and Archives has announced that its project, the Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection, has added the Nippu jiji (日布時事) Photo Archives. 

Nippu jiji photo archives at the Hoover Institution

Image source: https://hojishinbun.hoover.org/?a=dcl&dcl=DCL4&e=-------en-10--1--img---------

The Nippu Jiji Photo Archives are made available at the courtesy of the Hawaii Times Photo Archives Foundation. This long-term collaborative project started with the Foundation rescuing and organizing about 25,000 published and unpublished photographs and supporting documents, once housed at Nippu Jiji and later Hawaii Times. The Japanese Diaspora Initiative aims to make the images and rich English and Japanese descriptive metadata available open access on the Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection, collection by collection over time. For search tips, click here [https://hojishinbun.hoover.org/?a=p&p=help&e=-------en-10--1--img---------#search].

Credit: Copyright holder: Hawaii Times Photo Archives Foundation; digitization: Densho; and bilingual metadata: Hoover Institution Library & Archives and National Museum of Japanese History.

If you have any additional information to be included in the descriptions, please register at Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection and contribute directly to each image on the Nippu Jiji Photo Archives platform, or contact Kay Ueda at kueda@stanford.edu.

As of November 20, 2019 (JST), with the keyword, "Okinawa," 35 photos were retrieved from the Nippu Jiji Photo Archives. 


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Subjects



Okinawa
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.