Korea Collection: Chungch'uwŏn Collection

ꞏ Historical Significance

The Chungch'uwŏn was a key institution during Japan’s colonial rule over Korea (1910–1945), responsible for gathering extensive data on:
- Customs and Folklore
- Political and Social Systems
- Lifestyles and History
- Officials compiled and submitted reports to Chungch'uwŏn, forming a vast repository of information on Korean society.
 
ꞏ Survival & Preservation

After Japan’s defeat, efforts were made to destroy these materials, but some Korean officials rescued a significant portion.

ꞏ Research & Academic Value
The Chungch'uwŏn Collection remains an invaluable historical resource, offering critical insights into:
- Korea under Japanese colonial rule
- History, cultural studies, and Korean

1. A user wishing to access Special Collections should make prior reservations.

2. Before accessing any Korea Special collection material in room 405, the user must first:
  a. Read and sign the “access and Use Policy for Korean Special Collections Material”.
  b. Fill out, sign, and return the “Application to Access the Korean Special Collections, University of Hawaii at Manoa Library”.

3. If a user wishes to take digital photographs of any material, he/she must:
  a. Read and sign the form, “Korea Special Collections, Conditions for Reproduction and Reprint.”
  b. Return signed form.
  c. For each item photographed, make a note in the reproduction log. No scanning without special permission.

4. Unless special permission granted, visitor should examine material in the viewing area OUTSIDE the caged area. He/she should contact the Korea Specialist Librarian when needing to return or retrieve new items.

5. Unless special permission granted, only THREE (3) items may be viewed at one time.