Research Guides: Korea Collection: Special Collection

Special Collection Lists

Korean Old/Rare Book Collection
Marshal Pihl Collection

ꞏ Korean Old/Rare Books Collection: The collection comprises 329 titles in 1,354 volumes, many of which hold great historical value. Among them are Buddhist texts, genealogical records, anthologies, and naesabon(內賜本)—royal inspection copies issued by the king.

You can also find images and information about the old and rare books we hold in the archive of the Overseas Korean Cultural Heritage Foundation.

Korean Old/Rare Books list
A Bibliographical Analysis of Korean Rare Books in Hamilton Library
봉성기, & Hye-Eun Lee (2013). A Bibliographical Analysis of Korean Rare Books in Hamilton Library, University of Hawaii at Manoa. Journal of Studies in Bibliography,(56), 403-437.

ꞏ Marshall Pihl Collection: This collection was donated by Professor Marshall R. Pihl (1933–1995), who taught Korean literature. We hold 93 volumes in this collection, including works related to Korean studies as well as rare and historically significant materials.

Marshall Pihl Collection & Miscellaneous Rare Books

Special Collection View & Download

🔗 Click the image above to learn more about the Chungch'uwŏn Collection.
We provide more detailed information.

🔗 Center for Korean Studies Library Special Collection List

Marshall R. Pihl Papers list _Korean studies center

The Marshall R. Pihl Papers are accessible at the Center for Korean Studies at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa.

Special Collection Application

Photo Collection

향례합편 ; 鄕禮合編 ; Hyangnye happ'yŏn

This book is a compilation of various customs from China and Korea, accompanied by detailed annotations. It is a royal inspection copy (內賜本 ; Naesabon) issued by King Jeongjo(正祖) for Haman-gun, Gyeongsangnam-do.

국어 ; 國語 ; Kugŏ

These are Korean language textbooks for elementary school, published by the Ministry of Education in 1957 and 1958.

근사록집해 ; 近思錄集解 ; Gŭnsalokchiphae

This is a commentary edition of the Gŭnsalok, originally authored by Zhu Xi(朱熹) and Lü Zuqian(呂祖謙) in China, with annotations added by Seop Chae(葉采). It is a valuable woodblock-printed edition re-carved in Muncheon-gun(文川郡), and was published prior to the Imjin waeran (壬辰倭亂).

어제유대소신료급중외민인등척사윤음 ; 御製諭大小臣僚及中外民人等斥邪綸音 ; Ŏje yu taeso sillyo kŭp chungoe minindŭng ch'ŏksa yunŭm

This book contains King Gojong’s(高宗) proclamation urging all officials and citizens across the country to reject Catholic. It serves as a valuable resource for research in the political, social, and economic conditions of the time, as well as for studies in Korean linguistics.

한국어학본 ; 韓國語學本 ; Han'gugŏhakbon

This Korean language textbook was compiled in 1965 in Osaka, Japan, following a thorough review by the Ministry of Education, for the purpose of providing native language education to Korean residents in Japan.

Special Collection Procedures

1. A user wishing to access Special Collections should make prior reservations.

2. Before accessing any Korea Special collection material in room 405, the user must first:
a. Read and sign the “access and Use Policy for Korean Special Collections Material”.
b. Fill out, sign, and return the “Application to Access the Korean Special Collections, University of Hawaii at Manoa Library”.

3. If a user wishes to take digital photographs of any material, he/she must:
a. Read and sign the form, “Korea Special Collections, Conditions for Reproduction and Reprint.”
b. Return signed form.
c. For each item photographed, make a note in the reproduction log. No scanning without special permission.

4. Unless special permission granted, visitor should examine material in the viewing area OUTSIDE the caged area. He/she should contact the Korea Specialist Librarian when needing to return or retrieve new items.

5. Unless special permission granted, only THREE (3) items may be viewed at one time.