Japan Studies Collection: Audio/Visual

The UHM Japan Collection provides nearly 2,000 freely accessible images on Japan. 

• Bell Historical Postcard Collection over 300 postcards, bromides, and prints that were created before WWII. Most of the postcards were created in Japan along with some made in Hawai'i, China, and Taiwan (Formosa).
• Emery D. Middleton Collection Over 600 of his black & white photos, along with several historical postcards and documents he collected. The digital images are mainly photos and postcards taken during his service as an officer in the Allied Occupation of Japan from 1945 to 1947.
• GHQ Films during the Occupation of Japan (1945-1952) Series 2: Occupation of Japan UH Only Streaming films created by the Allied Forces of Occupation of Japan
• GHQ Films during the Occupation of Japan (1945-1952) Series 7: Recovery Efforts UH Only Streaming films created by the Allied Forces of Occupation of Japan
• Great Kanto Earthquake Japan of 1923/関東大震災写真集 199 images of black & white footage still photos of the Great Kanto Earthquake.
• Images of Okinawa after WWII
  250+ color slides taken in Okinawa after WWII
• James E. Haynes Photo Collection, 66 images taken between October 1946-August 1951 in Japan. The images are housed at CJS.
• Japanese Commercial Graphic Design 1920s Digital images of 50 commercial graphic designs published in 1928
• Japanese Immigrants Magic Lantern Slides of the Nippon Rikkokai/日本力行会 to Americas The collection features 179 black/white and hand-colored images of the lantern slides, which were created and provided by the Nippon Rikkokai Foundation/日本力行会. 
• Kaizawa Collection Photos & Memorabilia
  Photos and memorabilia were taken and collected by Stanley Kaizawa during the Occupation of Japan 1945-1949.
• Kumaichi Hiraoka Postcard Collection It consists of over 800 images of postcards and envelopes that were created before 1945 in Japan
• Magic Lantern Slides from Japan Collection
  1,400+ lantern slides from the Takie Okumura Collection and B/W KBS educational lantern slides.
• Oral History of Japanese Studies Scholars 1960s-1980s
  180+ Japanese scholars were interviewed by Dr. George Akita, Professor Emeritus of the UHM History Department.
• Treasures from the UHM Library
  19 images from the UHM Japan Collection featured in the Exhibit 
• Walter Pennino Photo Collection Photos were taken during the occupation of Japan. The site resides at CJS. The original photos are housed at the UHM Japan Collection of the Asia Collection Department.

Sinclair Streaming guides
This Libguide is designed to provide you with an overview of the diverse materials that we have available for streaming. We currently have over 3,700 videos available for your viewing. You can find more of these titles in the library's OneSearch.You can also check out our Pacific Streaming and Hawaiian Streaming Libguides to see more videos.

Streaming Films of the Allied Forces Occupation of Japan Libguides

NDL Historical Sounds/国立国会図書館デジタル化資料歴史的音源  (alternative link http://rekion.dl.ndl.go.jp/)

• Historical sounds including music, rakugo, talks, etc. from 1900s to 1950s. Can search the entire collections. 

• What is included?

  Rakugo, traditional music and songs, Japanese instrumental music (such as a guitar, koto, shakuhachi, musical plays, Joruri, Naniwabushi, popular music, jazz), lectures, speeches, and more. The main sources are NHK, Japan Columbia Records, Victor Entertainment Company, Kings Recording, Teichiku Entertainment, Universal Music, EMI Music Japan, etc.

• The picture, , indicates that it is available online. The others can be accessible onsite.
• PTNA Piano Encyclopedia: Database of piano music over 70,000 categories of piano music and composers. Some live performance videos are included.

Nichibunken's Rokyoku (Naniwabushi) Archives 浪曲SPレコードデジタルアーカイブ by 日文研　Searchable database of approximately 10,000 standard-playing (SP) records of traditional narrative storytelling covering the period from the beginning to the middle of the twentieth century.

When you need to use images from Japan for your scholarly publications, pay attention to copyrights and restrictions. Consult these resources for more details how you can use images from Japan.

•  In Japanese only. It provides information regarding Japanese copyright laws. Scroll down to see the useful list of copyright clearing houses and associations. https://www.bunka.go.jp/seisaku/chosakuken/seidokaisetsu/gaiyo/riyohoho.html
• NCC Image Use Protocol provides very useful information on copyrights, image holders, and bilingual templates that you can use for your permission requests.

•   Creative Commons promotes open access of publications on the Internet.

• Anime News Network provides news and information about anime and licensing

• Chosakuken Daicho/著作権台帳 Provides information on copyright holders in Japan

• Association of American University Presses Guildlines including sample letters and copyright table

• Google Arts & Culture Made in Japan 
• Japanese American Internment Camp Images by Arizona State University
• Japanese Animated Film Classis 日本アニメーション映画クラシックス Free historical Japanese animation films online. Organized by animation categories and titles with author descriptions. Films with English subtitles.
• Japanese Postcard Image Collection created by Lafayette University East Asia Collection.
• National Film Archive of Japan 国立映画アーカイブ Search database of Japanese films archived at NFAJ 
• Information about media arts by Bunkacho (Agency for Cultural Affairs)

• MangaPedia マンガペディア　Online encyclopedia featuring comics: Although it has “login” button, users are not required to login. The articles are written by researchers and journalists specialized with manga,