Japan Studies Collection: BLOG/News

Statistical contents in the JapanKnowledge Database

JapanKnowledge Lib also provides statistical contents.

1. Nihon Kokusei Zue (日本国勢図会) 

Nihon Kokusei Zu-e is a data book that employs statistical tables and graphs to provide easy-to-understand commentary on Japan's social and economic situation based on materials published by government-related organizations, such as ministries, agencies, and other public offices. It also includes materials resulting from surveys and research conducted by a variety of industrial organizations and think tanks. The yearbook encompasses a wide range of themes, such as national territory and climate, population, labor force, agriculture and agricultural produce, all types of industries, commerce, finance, monetary conditions, and the people's livelihoods. Each chapter presents international comparisons of these themes in order to provide global contextualization. 

The JapanKnowledge edition allows for searches of graph and table titles, as well as full-text searches of material sources and annotations.

2. Japan Statistical Yearbook (日本統計年鑑) Other versions

Japan Statistical Yearbook is a fundamental data book that offers a look at the national territory, population, economy, society, culture, and more. It contains statistics produced by public and private research organizations, and is compiled into approximately 500 statistics in 30 fields. Each chapter provides an overview and terms. Each statistical information shows the data source, which can assist you in checking more in the source book.

3. Historical Statistics of Japan (日本長期統計総覧) Other versions

Historical Statistics of Japan is a comprehensive and systematic compilation of statistics in various fields such as national territory, population, economy, society, culture, and others. It contains the first edition, which consists of 5 Vols of data from the early Meiji period to Showa 60, and the new edition (also 5 Vols) providing data up to Heisei 15. The data in the new edition was enriched with the inclusion of additional new statistics and the organization of fields in response to economic and social conditions.